Aryana Sofea
February 12, 2020
Reading Time: 5 Minutes

The trial month of 2020, a.k.a January has passed by and so many things have happened since then. There were album releases from sensational artists like Selena Gomez (Rare), Bombay Bicycle Club (Everything Else Has Gone Wrong), Lil Wayne (Funeral), Meghan Trainer (Treat Myself), as well as surprise album-drops from the late Mac Miller (Circles) and from rap god, Eminem (Music To Be Murdered By). 

February is a special month; this year especially as it has 29 days, and most artists are back from their long hiatus, releasing new albums that are surely going to be your new bop for the rest of the year. Make sure to read all the way so you don’t miss out on any of your favourite bands/artists 😉

GREEN DAY - Father of All ….

Release Date: February 7, 2020

Album Cover for Father of all …

Father of all … , also known by its uncensored form, Father of All Motherf*****s, is the thirteenth studio album by American rock band Green Day, released on February 7, 2020. 

This is Green Day’s shortest album with a running time of approximately 26 minutes and according to Billie Joe Armstrong, (lead vocalist of Green Day), the album is "The New! soul, Motown, glam and manic anthemic. Punks, freaks and punishers!". He states that the lyrics are about "the life AND death of the party" and the "lifestyle of not giving a f***."

With good reviews from Metacritic - 70/100 and 4 out of 5 stars from Kerrang! Magazine, immerse yourself in the emo-rock genre that everyone loves and give this album a listen


Release Date: February 14, 2020
Album cover for Changes

Controversial Canadian pop singer Justin Bieber is back with his fifth studio album scheduled to release on Valentine’s Day. The album will be featuring big music names including Post Malone, Quavo, Kehlani and Travis Scott. 

Back in October last year, the Biebs announced that this album would be released before Christmas 2019 if his Instagram post reached 20 million likes. However, he deleted 

the post and the release was postponed. Instead, he officially kicked off the “Changes” era on Christmas Eve 2019 by releasing the lead single of the album “Yummy” as well as his Album   tour dates - Changes Tour - and uploading an album trailer on Youtube.

Yummy is an infectious pop song that has taken the world by storm, topping charts all over the globe, and it has us excited to hear every track on the new album!


BTS - Map Of The Soul: 7 

Release Date: February 21, 2020
Photo by BigHit Entertainment

The biggest boy band in the world currently, BTS - also known as Bangtan Boys, makes another comeback that is going to shake the Earth to its core. Their newest video trailer for their comeback - BTS (방탄소년단) MAP OF THE SOUL: 7 'Outro: Ego' Comeback Trailer

has already gained more than 28 Million views on Youtube in just one week. A "comeback map" for the album was released on January 8, revealing a schedule split into four phases. The map included multiple dates, including the release dates for the albums and two singles.

This album is a follow-up to their 2019 extended play, Map of The Soul: Persona. On the first week of February, Forbes reports that the album has surpassed 4 million pre-sales order worldwide! 

Are you one of those lucky fans who are first up to listen to their new music? 😍

MONSTA X - All About Luv

Release Date: February 14, 2020
Photo by Starship Entertainment

Korean boy band Monsta X is releasing their first-ever English album this coming Valentine’s Day! 

Get ready to fall in love with not one, not two but with 7 dashingly handsome boys who are going to serenade you love songs with track titles like  “Love U”, “Someone’s Someone”, and “Middle Of The Night”. International pop-stars are also collaborating with this rising Pheonix of the east as the new album is featuring French Montana - for the song “Who Do You Love”, as well as Mr Worldwide himself, Pitbull - for the song “Beside U”. 

This album is going to be a hit, and you’ll be dancing and singing to these tunes all year long

TAME IMPALA - The Slow Rush

Release Date: February 14, 2020

This is the fourth album of Tame Impala - Australian psychedelic rock band. The Slow Rush is the perfect start to the morning after an ecstatic night out or the soothing nightcap after a hectic day. Kevin Parker, the producer, lead instrumentalist, vocalist and basically the spine of the band, says creating this album was very tough as it imposed a “creative strain” on him. However, because of the pressure that came into creating it, this could be Tame Impala’s best album yet!  Even comedic and musical genius, Daniel Grover vibes with his music, so we assure you that Tame Impala is 

THE artist to check out right now if you haven’t already! Be transported in a fusion of music in the new album The Slow

Rush - coming out on 14th of February. Perfect for any Valentine’s occasion, whether you’re single, taken or unavailable.

OZZY OSBOURNE - Ordinary Man

Release Date: February 21, 2020
Album cover for Ordinary Man 

The legendary heavy metal singer is back after 10 years to bring us, Ordinary Man! This is Osbourne’s first studio album since his reunion with Tony Iommi (Black Sabbath) and Geezer  Butler for their final album 13 and also his first solo artist album. Osbourne dropped the self-titled track from this album, Ordinary Man, at the start of the year and it features Rocketman Elton John, Slash and Duff McKagan from Guns N’ Roses, and Chad Smith, the drummer for Red Hot Chilli      Peppers. According to the drummer, the track is “F******g    awesome... These two iconic, legendary English fucking rockers that have been through it all are singing about theend of their lives — 'I don't wanna die an ordinary man' — it's fucking great."

One can only imagine how rad the rest of the album is going to be! Mark your calendars for the official release of the album on the 21st of February on digital and physical platforms! 

King Krule - Man Alive

Release Date: February 21, 2020
Album cover by Tame Impala

Man Alive is the upcoming fourth studio album by King Krule. The record will include songs that were featured in the lead Archy Marshall’s ‘Hey World!’ Short film, namely “Alone Omen 3” and “(Don’t Let the Dragon) Draag On”.  Archy Marshall is broadly known as a romantic punk poet for his heartfelt tales of rejection and disillusionment in his songs. Bringing you the ultimate ‘Sendu’ (gloomy) vibe ~ 

The English Rapper has included 14 songs in this new album that you would not want to miss. The album will be released on 21 February 2020. Watch his aesthetically pleasing  ‘Hey World!’ short film here:

JHENÉ AIKO - Chilombo 

Release Date: TBA
Self-portrait via Jhené’s Instagram account 

Although there’s no confirmed release date yet, the third album from Miss Aiko is expected to drop sometime this month! “Chilombo” is titled after her last name and the artist has also broken down the word into sections in an Insta Story from her profile:

“[Chi] is life force. [L] is for Love. Love is Living On Valued Energy. Taking care of the future by being fully present in. this. Moment. [Om] is the sound of the universe.

The solution is sound. [b] represents the leg and the foot… foundation. B is for base; basics, beginnings [O] is eternity, infinite, wholeness… totality, perfection". 

With her hypnotising vocals and psychedelic music, it’s got everyone gripping on their seats for the release of her new music which would explore the emotional rollercoaster of love. An epic album is bound to come after a heartbreak and after her break up with long time lover, rapper Big Sean... it’s safe to say that us fans are just waiting to bawl our eyes out listening to this album!